Faculty of Informatics, Masaryk University

Welcome to CEOI 2015!

We have a pleasure to invite teams of all CEOI countries to participate at the 22nd Central European Olympiad in Informatics that will be hosted by the Czech Republic, Brno, Faculty of Informatics, Masaryk University, June 29 – July 4, 2015. Hope you will enjoy your visit to Brno, the second largest city in the Czech Republic and the centre of Moravia.

Information for participants

Brief History of CEOI

The Central European Olympiad in Informatics is a younger partner of International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) and takes place since 1994 every year.

It is a competition for secondary school students who are interested in informatics. The first CEOI was held in 1994, five years after the first IOI. The first International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) for secondary school students, supported by UNESCO, was organised in 1989. Thirteen countries took part in the first competition, held in Pravetz (near to Sofia), Bulgaria. A year later already 25 countries sent their teams, composed of four students and two team leaders, to Minsk, Belorussian Republic, Soviet Union. In the subsequent years the number of participating countries rose to almost 50. Inspired by the fast-growing popularity of the IOI, the Romanian team proposed in 1993 to organise a similar event for the Central European countries (as a matter of fact, they have been organising the Olympiad in Informatics of the Balkan countries since many years). Shortly thereafter, Romania officially invited the teams of Austria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia to participate in the first Central-European Olympiad in Informatics (CEOI). Five of these eight countries Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland and Romania sent their teams to Cluj in May 1994 where, upon special invitation, four more teams from Moldavia, Romania, Yugoslavia, and Turkey took also part in the contest. CEOI'94 was hosted by the "Tiberiu Popovic" secondary school in informatics, Cluj; the organising committees were headed by Ms Clara Ionescu and Dr Horia Georgescu.

The Czech Republic already hosted